About Customer Lifecycle Stages

To help you market to your contacts based on where they are in their customer journey, we offer a segmentation criteria called customer lifecycle stage. We look at each individual customer’s purchase history and patterns and compare that to what’s normal for your store. Then, we use artificial intelligence to place customers into 1 of 4 lifecycle stages.

In this article, you’ll learn about the customer lifecycle stages, what our model looks at to determine which stage a customer falls in, and how to use that information to create targeted campaigns.

Things to Know

Here are some things to know about customer lifecycle stages.

  • You must have a connected store to access this segmentation criteria.
  • We’ll only display lifecycle stages as a segmentation criteria if we have enough data from your online store to adequately categorize your customers.

Customer Lifecycle Stages

Customers can fall into 1 of 4 general stages: new, alive, uncertain, and lapsed.

Here’s an overview of what each stage indicates about your customers.

Lifecycle StageCustomer Characteristics
NewNew customers who have made their first purchase in the last 30 days.
AliveCustomers who are likely to purchase again.
UncertainCustomers whose purchase activity has dropped off and who may have disengaged.
LapsedCustomers who are unlikely to purchase again.

To determine which stage a customer is in, we do some math on our end to compare averages for your store to a few customer-specific variables:

  • Customer age This is a simple measure of how long a person has been a customer, or the amount of time since their first purchase.

  • Time between first and last purchase We’ll look at the time between a customer’s first purchase and their most recent, or last, purchase.

  • Time since most recent purchase This is the time since a customer last made a purchase from your store.

  • Frequency This variable looks at how many times a customer made a purchase.

Our artificial intelligence model takes all these variables into consideration to make a prediction about each customer. Exactly when or why we move a customer into a different stage depends on all of these variables. This means, for example, there may be a customer who is moved into the lapsed stage after 8 weeks of inactivity, while another has been inactive for longer, but is still in the alive stage.

Next Steps

Ready to get started? Learn how to create and send to a segment, or take a look at all the segmentation options available to you.

Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?