Delete Contacts

Sometimes, you may want to delete one or more contacts from your list. There are a couple of ways to delete your contacts, depending on how many you want to remove at a time.

In this article, you'll learn how to delete contacts from your list.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

  • We recommend that you export your lists before you perform any bulk actions. Anything you delete from your account is permanently removed and can't be recovered.
  • If you need to reduce your subscriber count but don’t want to lose any data, you may want to unsubscribe a contact rather than delete them.
  • If one of your contacts asks us to remove their data from every account in Mailchimp, we'll notify you with an email. After you receive the email, you'll have 30 days to delete and remove the contact from every list they're on, as well as any connected integrations.

Archive vs. Remove

When you choose to delete a contact from your list, you’ll have the option to delete and archive or delete and remove. Here are the differences between the two.

Delete and Archive

This action deletes the contact from your list and archives identifiable activity data in your campaign reports. Two types of contacts can be deleted and archived: subscribed contacts, and contacts who were unsubscribed by an account Admin.

After you delete and archive a contact, you’ll still be able to re-subscribe them to your list. If you want to avoid accidentally re-subscribing a deleted contact, you may want to remove them instead.

Delete and Remove

This action permanently removes all of a contact’s personal information and anonymizes their data in your reports. It is available for all contact types.

After you delete and remove a contact, you won’t be able to add them back to your list. However, they can choose to re-subscribe through a Mailchimp signup form, or be re-added via Shopify.

If a contact asks for their information to be completely removed from your records, you'll need to delete and remove them from every list in your account.

Delete Contacts

There are a couple ways to delete contacts. To delete one or more contacts, you’ll navigate to your list and select which addresses to delete. You can also delete a single contact from their profile page. Then you’ll choose whether to archive or remove the selected contact(s).

Remember, delete and remove is a permanent action that cannot be undone. To prevent accidental removals when deleting multiple contacts, delete and remove is not available with the Select All option.

To delete one or more contacts from your list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with
  3. In the list view, browse or use the Search icon to locate the contact(s) you want to delete.
  4. Check the box next to each contact you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click the button next to Delete and archive or Delete and remove. If you’re not sure, check out the Archive vs. Remove section in this article.
  7. Type DELETE to confirm, and click Delete.

We'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.

From the Profile Page

To delete a single contact from their profile page, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Click the contact to open their profile.
  4. Click the Actions drop-down menu and choose Delete.
    dropdown-contactprofile-delete
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click the button next to Delete and archive or Delete and remove.
    gdpr delete
  6. Type DELETE to confirm, and click Delete.

We'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.


Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?