Archive or Unarchive Your Contacts

Archive contacts to remove them from your marketing audience without losing any data. This is helpful if you have lots of duplicate, outdated, or inactive contacts who don’t interact with your campaigns. If you change your mind or want to try a new strategy, you can always unarchive them later.

In this article, you’ll learn how to archive or unarchive your contacts in Mailchimp.

Before you start

Here are some things to know before you start.

  • For General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) purposes, archiving is not a legal substitute for deletion. If an EU contact asks to be removed from your account, you must permanently delete them from all audiences in which their data is stored. To learn how, check out Delete Contacts.
  • Cleaned contacts don't count toward audience limits and cannot be archived.

About archiving

When you archive a contact, you remove them from the contact table and add them to a separate archived contacts page. As long as a contact remains archived, you won’t be able to edit their profile or send them any marketing communications. However, you’ll retain all of their data, including identifiable information in campaign reports. Archived contacts don’t count toward your billing.

You can unarchive a contact at any time, and they’ll appear back in your audience with the appropriate email marketing status. A contact can also unarchive themselves if they sign up through your Mailchimp signup form or interact with your connected online store.

Archive your contacts

To select and archive specific contacts, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Audience tab.
  2. If you have more than one audience, click the Current audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
  3. Click View Contacts.
    audience-button-viewcontacts
  4. Check the box next to each contact you want to archive.
  5. Click the Actions drop-down and choose Remove contacts.
    audience-actions-remove
  6. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, choose Archive and click Confirm.
    audience-remove-archive

Nice job! We’ll display a success message that tells you how many contacts you archived. To view your archived contacts, click the Manage contacts drop-down and choose View archived contacts.

audience-contacttable-manage-viewarchived

Archive all contacts in an audience

If your entire audience is outdated or duplicated, you may want to archive all of its contacts at once.

To archive all of the contacts in an audience, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Audience tab.
  2. If you have more than one audience, click the Current audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
  3. Click View Contacts.
    audience-button-viewcontacts
  4. Click the Manage contacts drop-down and choose Archive all contacts.
  5. Type ARCHIVE in the available field and click Archive All Contacts to confirm.

Unarchive your contacts

To unarchive one or more contacts, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Audience tab.
  2. If you have more than one audience, click the Current audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
  3. Click View Contacts.
    audience-button-viewcontacts
  4. Click the Manage contacts drop-down and choose View archived contacts.
    audience-contacttable-manage-viewarchived
  5. On your archived contacts page, you can export all of your unarchived contacts, access their contact profile pages, or unarchive them as needed.
  6. Check the box next to each contact you want to unarchive.
  7. Click Unarchive.
    audience-unarchive

Great work. Your unarchived contacts will appear back in your audience’s contact table with the appropriate email marketing status.


Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?