It's possible to delete an audience in Mailchimp, but we don't always recommend it since you might lose important data about your contacts.
In this article, you'll learn about the drawbacks of audience deletion, and how to delete an audience if you need to.
Drawbacks of Audience Deletion
Before you delete your audience, keep these drawbacks in mind.
- Permanent data loss
If you delete an audience, you'll lose the audience history, including subscriber activity, unsubscribes, complaints, bounces, and export files. You'll also lose contacts' email addresses. All campaigns associated with that audience will remain in the account and most of the statistics in your campaign reports will continue to update. However, some audience-specific links and system tags, like unsubscribe links, will stop working. Conversations will no longer be accessible after you delete an audience.
- Possible abuse complaints
For each audience in your account, we keep track of bounced and unsubscribed addresses and prevent them from being added back to your audience. If you delete the audience, its bounce and unsubscribe information is lost.
If you need to delete your audience anyway, that's okay, but it's almost always best to back up your account first.
Back Up Account Data
There are a few alternatives to audience deletion that keep your data intact without adding to your subscriber count.
- Auto-update your audience
Instead of deleting an audience and importing the same contacts to another audience, perform an auto-update import to add new information for existing contacts. This way, you maintain and update your existing audience, and keep all your audience-specific data, unsubscribes, and cleaned addresses intact.
How to Auto-Update an Existing Audience
- Maintain a single audience
If you manage more than one brand in your account, it makes sense to manage multiple audiences. But if you manage a single business with different audiences, you can use tags and other tools to manage a single master audience without duplicating or losing valuable data.
Getting Started with Tags
How to Delete an Audience
Sometimes, it's necessary to completely delete an audience. If you're certain you want to permanently delete your audience, here's how.
To delete an entire audience, follow these steps.
- Navigate to the list of audiences.
- Check the box next to the audience you want to delete.
- Click Delete.
- In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE in all caps and click Delete.