Resubscribe a Contact

When a subscribed contact clicks the unsubscribe link in your MailChimp campaign, or when you manually unsubscribe a contact, the system assumes it was done on purpose and changes the contact's email marketing status. But we know accidents happen, so there are a couple of ways to resubscribe a contact.

In this article, you'll learn how to resubscribe a contact.

Before You Start

  • MailChimp respects any contact's request to be unsubscribed from your email list. Contacts who unsubscribe themselves cannot be deleted. To resubscribe, they need to opt-in through your list signup form or confirmation email.
  • If you bulk unsubscribe addresses for list maintenance purposes, it's possible to manually resubscribe those addresses.
  • In every case, we recommend you send a reconfirmation campaign for the best list engagement.

Resubscribe with the Signup Form

When a contact who unsubscribed themselves decides to resubscribe, they need to sign up again on your MailChimp-hosted signup form. Our forms capture the date and time the contact gave you permission to send them emails.

If someone has contacted you to ask about resubscribing, send them a link to your signup form.

Resubscribe Email Addresses Manually

If you've manually unsubscribed contacts from your email marketing, you can resubscribe them. Contacts who unsubscribe themselves will need to resubscribe through your signup form.

To resubscribe contacts, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Check the box next to the contact you want to resubscribe.
  4. Click the Actions drop-down menu, and choose Resubscribe.
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Confirm.
    Confirm button image

Resend a Confirmation Email

If your list uses double opt-in and someone accidentally unsubscribes, you can resend them the confirmation email from their contact profile. You should only resend a confirmation email if someone has explicitly requested it.

To resend a confirmation email from a contact profile page, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list the contact you want to work with is a member of.
  3. Click the contact to open their profile.
  4. On the contact's profile page, click the Actions drop-down menu and choose Resend Confirmation.
    Drop-down menu on contact profile with Resend Confirmation selected.
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Resend Confirmation Email.
    Resend Confirmation Email button

We'll send your contact the opt-in confirmation email for your list, so they can add themselves back as a subscriber via the double-opt in process.

Image: a screenshot of a sample opt in confirmation email in a subscriber's inbox

Was this article helpful?
Anything else we can do to improve our site?

Technical Support