Delete a Group

Groups can be deleted if you no longer need them in your Mailchimp audience. All audience actions are permanent, and can't be undone, so be sure you want to delete the group.

When you delete a group, we don't delete any subscribers from your audience, but we'll remove subscribers from the groups and delete the groups from your account. To remove subscribers from your audience completely, you can delete or unsubscribe them from your audiences.

In this article, you'll learn how to delete a group name or group category from your audience.

Delete Group Name

To delete a single option (group name) from a complete group (group category), follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Audience tab.
  2. If you have more than one audience, click the Current audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
  3. Click the Manage Audience drop-down and choose Manage contacts.
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the View Groups button for the group category you want to edit.
  6. Locate the group name you want to remove, and click Delete.
  7. In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm that you want to permanently delete the group, and click Delete Group.

Delete Group Category

To delete a complete group (group category) along with its options (group names), follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Audience tab.
  2. If you have more than one audience, click the Current audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
  3. Click the Manage Audience drop-down and choose Manage contacts.
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Locate the group category you want to remove, and click Delete.
  6. In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm that you want to permanently delete the group, and click Delete Groups.

Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?