Save and Manage Segments

When you create a segment in your Mailchimp list, you can save that segment to use with email and ad campaigns.

In this article, you'll learn how to save and manage segments.

Note

Standard segmentation combines up to five conditions and is included with all Mailchimp plans. Upgrade to Mailchimp Pro to create advanced segments, which support multiple, nested conditions.

Save a Segment

Mailchimp offers numerous segmentation conditions based on group data, campaign activity, purchase activity, and more.

To create and save a segment in your list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Click New Segment.
  4. Choose your segment conditions, and click Preview Segment to view the contacts in the segment. If the results aren't what you expected, click Edit to return to change your segment conditions.
  5. When you're satisfied with your segment, click Save Segment.
  6. In the Save Segment pop-up modal, type in a name for your segment, and click Save.

We'll update your segment as contacts meet the conditions you set.

View and Edit Saved Segments

To access a saved segment, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu for the list you want to work with, and choose Manage contacts.
    click manage contacts
  3. Click Segments.

On this page, you can view and sort all saved segments, edit segmentation criteria, or use a segment's drop-down menu to Send to a specific segment.

Delete a Saved Segment

Saved segments can be deleted when you no longer need them, and we won't delete those contacts from your list. To use the segment again though, you'll have to recreate it.

To delete a saved segment, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu for the list you want to work with, and choose Manage contacts.
    click manage contacts
  3. Click Segments.
  4. Check the box next to the segment you want to delete and click Delete.
    delete segment
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Delete to confirm.

Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?