Connect or Disconnect Twitter

Connect Mailchimp with your Twitter account to post tweets with Mailchimp and add Twitter content to your email campaigns.

In this article, you'll learn how to connect and use the Twitter integration.

Connect Twitter

You can connect your Twitter account to a specific audience, or make it the default account for all audiences.

To connect a Twitter account to Mailchimp, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Integrations page
  2. Click Twitter to open the integration settings.
  3. Click the List to connect drop-down menu and select Account Default. Twitter integration settings
    The Twitter account you set as the Account Default is used for all audiences that aren’t tied to an individual Twitter account.
  4. Click Connect. If you're not already logged in to Twitter, you'll be prompted to log in.
  5. Click Authorize App to give Mailchimp access to the Twitter account.
    button authorizemailchimptotwitter clickauthorizeapp
    Nice job! You’ll be redirected to Mailchimp where we’ll show you a success message to confirm Twitter is connected.
    Alert integrationspage Twittersuccessmessage

From the List to connect drop-down menu, you can set a different Twitter account for individual audiences in your Mailchimp account.

Next Steps

After you connect Twitter to Mailchimp, you’ll be able to post a tweet directly fromMailchimp, or use merge tags to pull Twitter content into your email campaigns.

Here are some other articles that’ll help you make the most of the integration.

Create a Social Post

Publish a Social Post When You Send an Email

Merge Tags for Twitter

Disconnect Twitter

Sometimes you may need to disconnect a Twitter account from your audience. For example, maybe you’ve started a new Twitter account and want to connect that one instead.

To disconnect a Twitter account from an audience or remove it as the account default, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Integrations page
  2. Click Twitter to open the integration settings.
  3. Click on the List to connect dropdown and choose the audience you want to change the connected Twitter account for.
    dropdown Integrations listtoconnectto
    If you want to disconnect or change the Twitter account connected to the Account Default, be sure to keep the dropdown set to Account Default.
  4. Click Disconnect.

After you disconnect, your Twitter account will no longer be connected to your audience or set as your account default. Repeat steps 3 and 4 to disconnect it from other audiences, or follow the steps to connect a different Twitter account to the same audience.


Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?