Change or Pause a Legacy Plan

On May 15, 2019, Mailchimp introduced a new pricing model that allows existing paid users to keep their legacy plans. If you have a legacy plan, you can also upgrade, downgrade, or pause it as needed. In some cases, this will require you to switch to our new pricing.

In this article, you'll learn how to change or pause your legacy pricing plan.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

  • This article applies to legacy plans only. If you joined Mailchimp after the new pricing model was introduced, and want to change or upgrade your account, check out Change or Pause Your Pricing Plan.
  • When you upgrade from Free to a paid plan, the upgrade is immediate and you lose any remaining sends that you had while on the Free Plan.
  • If your subscriber count increases while your account is paused, you'll need to purchase the appropriate Monthly Plan or Pay As You Go credit block to send emails when you unpause the account.
  • If you use About Mailchimp Pro or our Social Profiles add-on, you'll still be charged for them when billing is paused. To prevent these charges, deactivate Mailchimp Pro and disconnect Social Profiles when you pause billing.

Upgrade

If you have a legacy Monthly Plan, we'll continue to automatically adjust your billing tier as your subscriber count grows or shrinks. You won't see any changes. Our system does not support switching from a legacy Monthly Plan to the new pricing model at this time.

If you’re moving from a legacy Free Plan to a Pay As You Go plan, or returning to your legacy Monthly Plan within 90 days of downgrading, you’ll upgrade in your account settings.

To upgrade or change your plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
    profilename-dropdown-account
  2. Click Billing, and choose Monthly plans or credits.
    billing-monthlyplans
  3. Click the radio button next to the plan type you want to purchase.
    • Click the Monthly radio button, and we’ll display the monthly rate based on the number of subscribers currently in your account.
      monthly-radio-button
    • Click the Pay As You Go radio button to expand the list of available credit packages and choose the one you want to purchase.
      payg-radio-button
  4. Review your transaction in the right sidebar, and add or edit your payment method.
  5. Type in your CVV, and click Complete Purchase.

If you want to upgrade to a paid plan from your legacy Free account, and have not downgraded in the past 90 days, you'll upgrade into our new pricing model.

To upgrade from a legacy Free account to a new pricing plan, follow these steps:

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
  2. Click Billing and choose Monthly plans or credits.
  3. Click Change Your Plan.
  4. Choose your plan and audience size.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Enter your payment information.
  7. Click Pay Now.
  8. To exit back to the Billing page from the confirmation screen, click Close.

Switch from Pay As You Go to Monthly

If you have a legacy Pay As You Go account and want to upgrade to regular monthly billing, you'll access your account settings and choose a plan from our new pricing model.

To upgrade to a new monthly plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
    profilename-dropdown-account
  2. Click Billing, and choose Monthly plans or credits.
    billing-monthlyplans
  3. Click Change Your Plan
    billing-change your plan

On the next page, you’ll choose a plan from our new pricing model. To learn about these plans, check out About Mailchimp Pricing Plans .

Switch from Monthly to Pay As You Go

If you're on a legacy Monthly Plan and purchase Pay As You Go credits, we'll move you to a Pay As You Go Plan and stop monthly billing. On the Pay As You Go Plan, credits are like postage stamps and can only be applied to emails. You’ll need one credit for each email you send. Make sure you have enough credits in your account before you send emails.

When you switch to the Pay As You Go Plan, the change will occur immediately. We recommend switching from Monthly to Pay As You Go toward the end of your billing period to make the most of your unused time.

Learn more about the Pay As You Go Plan.

Downgrade to the Free Plan

If you're on a legacy paid plan with 2,000 or fewer subscribed contacts, you can downgrade to the Free Plan one time over the life of your account. Learn more about the Free Plan.

If you downgrade from a legacy Monthly Plan, you can upgrade back to your original plan within 90 days. After that, you’ll upgrade into our new pricing model.

If you downgrade from a Pay As You Go Plan, any remaining credits will be lost when you switch to the Free Plan.

To downgrade to the Free Plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
    profilename-dropdown-account
  2. Click Billing, and choose Monthly plans or credits.
    billing-monthlyplans
  3. Click the radio button next to Free Plan. If you've downgraded before, or have more than 2,000 contacts, you won't be able to click this option.
  4. Click Downgrade To Free.
    downgrade-to-free
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DOWNGRADE.
    downgrade-modal
  6. Click Downgrade.

Pause or Unpause Billing

If you're on a legacy Monthly Plan and don't need to send emails for a while, you can pause your billing for up to 90 days and still keep your legacy plan. You can keep your account paused as long as you need to, but you’re limited to two pauses each year.

When you pause your account, we immediately end the current billing cycle and suspend sending functionality. You can still use Mailchimp to create and edit campaigns and templates, view reports, and make changes to your audience. We’ll even continue to manage new signups for you.

When you're ready to send emails again, purchase a plan to unpause your account. If it’s been more than 90 days since you paused billing, you’ll need to purchase a plan under our new pricing model.

Pause Billing

To pause billing on your account, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
    profilename-dropdown-account
  2. Click Settings, and choose Pause or delete account.
    settings-pause-or-delete
  3. Click the radio button next to Temporarily pause billing on this account.
    billing-pause
  4. Click Pause Account.
    pause account
  5. In the Confirmation Required pop-up modal, type PAUSE.
  6. Click Pause Your Account.
    pause your account

You'll see a success message when your account has been paused.

Unpause Billing

To unpause billing, you'll need to choose a legacy Monthly Plan that covers your current subscriber count or purchase Pay As You Go credits. If your account has been paused for more than 90 days, you’ll switch to one of our new plans. After you unpause billing, be sure to reactivate any automated campaigns in your account.

To unpause billing on your account and resume sending email campaigns, follow these steps.

  1. Log in to your Mailchimp account.
  2. On your account dashboard, click Restart Account in the alert banner.
    restart paused account
  3. On the Edit your billing plan page, choose the plan that works best for you, and update your billing information if needed. If you have 2,000 or fewer subscribed contacts, and haven’t downgraded your account before, you can choose to downgrade to the Free Plan when you unpause.
  4. Click Complete Purchase.

Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?