Change or Pause Your Pricing Plan

Mailchimp's flexible pricing plans work with you as your needs change over time. You might need to adjust your audience size, switch plans to access new features, or do both at the same time. You also have the option to pause your account and stop payments for awhile.

In this article, you'll learn how to change or pause your pricing plan.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

  • Mailchimp introduced a new pricing model on May 15, 2019. If you joined Mailchimp before the new pricing model was introduced, and want to change or upgrade your legacy plan, check out Change or Pause Your Legacy Pricing Plan.
  • You can only downgrade to the Free plan once over the life of your account. If your account has been downgraded before, you won't be able to downgrade again.
  • If you use the Social Profiles add-on, it will still charge you while billing is paused. To prevent this charge, disconnect Social Profiles when you pause billing.
  • When you upgrade to a paid plan from a Free plan, the upgrade is immediate and you lose any remaining sends that you had on the Free plan.
  • If your audience grows more than expected, or you go over your monthly send limit, we won’t interrupt your service. Instead, you’ll see an additional charge on your bill. If this happens, upgrade your audience size to accommodate your new contacts.

Upgrade

As your business grows, you may need to store more contacts in your audience, or access more features. You can upgrade your plan or audience size at any time. To learn more about Mailchimp plans and audience size, check out About Mailchimp Pricing Plans.

If you upgrade your plan or audience size mid-cycle, you’ll have access to the new features or higher contact limit immediately. You’ll see a prorated charge on your monthly bill.

If you upgrade from a Pay As You Go Plan to a monthly plan, the monthly billing process starts immediately. If you have remaining Pay As You Go credits, they'll be converted into MonkeyRewards credits and applied to your purchase. If any credits remain after the initial purchase of the monthly plan, we’ll apply the credits to the next monthly bill.

To upgrade your plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
  2. Click Billing and choose Monthly plans or credits.
  3. Click Upgrade Your Plan.
  4. Choose your plan and audience size.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Enter your payment information.
  7. Click Pay Now.
  8. To exit back to the Billing page from the confirmation screen, click Close.

Downgrade

If you downgrade your audience size or plan mid-cycle, your bill will include the full audience size or plan you chose for that month. The next billing cycle will reflect your changes.

To downgrade your plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
  2. Click Billing and choose Monthly plans or credits.
  3. Click Downgrade Your Plan.
  4. Choose your plan and audience size.
  5. Enter your billing information.
  6. Click Confirm Change.

Downgrade to the Free plan

If you're on a paid plan with 2,000 or fewer contacts, you can downgrade to the Free plan one time over the life of your account. If you downgrade from a Pay As You Go Plan, any remaining credits will be lost when you switch to the Free plan.

To downgrade to the Free plan, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
  2. Click Billing and choose Monthly plans or credits.
  3. Click Free plan. If you've downgraded before, or have more than 2,000 contacts, you won't be able to click this option.
  4. Click Downgrade To Free.
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DOWNGRADE.
  6. Click Downgrade.

If you exceed 2,000 contacts after you downgrade, you’ll be prompted to upgrade to a paid plan or archive your unsubscribed contacts.

Switch to Pay As You Go

If you're on a monthly plan and purchase Pay As You Go credits, we'll move you to a Pay As You Go Plan and stop monthly billing. On the Pay As You Go Plan, credits are like postage stamps and can only be applied to emails. You’ll need one credit for each email you send. Make sure you have enough credits in your account before you send emails.

When you switch to the Pay As You Go Plan, the change will occur immediately. We recommend switching from Monthly to Pay As You Go toward the end of your billing period.

About the Pay As You Go Plan

Pause or Unpause Billing

If you have a paid monthly plan and don't need to send campaigns for a while, you can pause billing on your account. You can keep your account paused as long as you need to, but you’re limited to two pauses each year.

When you pause your account, we immediately end the current billing cycle and suspend sending functionality. You can still use Mailchimp to create and edit campaigns and templates, view reports, and make changes to your audience. We’ll even continue to manage new signups for you.

When you're ready to send campaigns again, you’ll need to purchase a plan to unpause your account.

Pause Billing

To pause billing on your account, follow these steps.

  1. Click your profile name and choose Account.
  2. Click Settings and choose Pause or delete account.
  3. Click Temporarily pause billing on this account.
  4. Click Pause Account.
  5. In the Confirmation Required pop-up modal, type PAUSE.
  6. Click Pause Your Account.

You'll see a success message when your account has been paused.

Unpause Billing

To unpause billing, you'll need to choose a plan and audience size, or purchase Pay As You Go credits. After you unpause billing, be sure to reactivate any automated campaigns in your account.

To unpause billing on your account, follow these steps.

  1. Log in to your Mailchimp account.
  2. On your account dashboard, click Restart Account in the alert banner.
  3. On the Edit your billing plan page, choose the plan and audience size that works best for you, and update your billing information if needed.
  4. Click Complete Purchase.

Was this article helpful?

Anything else we can do to improve our site?