Looking for help with your list?
Mailchimp lists are now called audiences. They include the same data and functionality as before, along with valuable new insights about your contacts. As we introduce this change over time, you’ll notice fewer places where we still say list. Learn more about this change.
If sending is disabled in your account or you've received a suspension notice, we know you're ready to resolve the issue and get back to work.
In this article, you'll learn about suspensions, why they occur, and how to fix them.
What is a list suspension?
Suspension occurs when Mailchimp disables sending features, including live email campaigns and test emails, on your account while you're under review with our Compliance Team. Your account is still active, so signup forms, API requests, and other features, like the Campaign Builder and Template Builder, will continue to work.
In rare cases, we may completely suspend an account, which includes logins, API requests, and campaign tracking.
Why did this happen?
Internet Service Providers (ISPs) and anti-spam organizations keep a close eye on Mailchimp as a sender. If they see a high rate of negative response to an email or a particular sender, they can block any Mailchimp email campaign from reaching anyone on their ISP.
Our automated system and our Compliance Team review negative email campaign results, and sometimes have to disable sending until they can identify what's going on. Most of the time, we'll issue a warning before we disable an account. Occasionally, if someone on our Compliance Team caught the issue before the system did, your account could go into review without warning.
What should I do next?
Check your email, or get in touch with the Primary Account Contact. We'll send an email to the Primary Account Contact on file with details about the issue, and instructions on how to move forward. Log in to Mailchimp and navigate to your Account page. There, you'll find information about why your account was disabled. Messages from Compliance are also available on your Account page under the Account History heading.
We review accounts during business hours (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm, EST), in the order they are received.